I am finding it hard to remember the last time flicked over to the news and saw something positive.  I find it hard to listen or watch it anymore purely because there is always something to shock me… not in any manner of positivity, but at the disbelief at how inhumane some beings on this earth can be. Visual images of suffering people that I don’t know, nor have any thing in common with, yet part of me being human makes me care.

I don’t know whether it is the time of year, or a personal family issue at the moment which is making me reflect that sometimes we should all just take a step back from the revulsion that is and think about what we have, and what there is to be proud of. I am sure that 90% of us have something that we treasure and count as our primary reason for self-importance, it just sometimes get lost beneath an enmity of what is.

Reading or hearing about Cameron’s latest prediction of when the economic storm will pass has never been a highlight to my day. However this morning as I listened to a snippet of the news on the radio I realised that the ‘Credit Crunch’ started over four years ago. It was only then that I was besieged with a sense of pride that so far Oak Filing has weathered the rain, hailstone and lightening that it has summoned upon us.

That brief moment made me think of all the companies that fell at each heightened hurdle and struggled to maintain their enterprise. I feel a sense of pride in a company and a brand that has been maintained and also in  my father for his clear knowledge of business and for keeping it going.

I am not for one minute suggesting that we will unquestionably cope through the snow and floods that it is sure to bring. But I think a sense of satisfaction in our preservation attempts should be recognised as should every other company that still stands throughout the UK today. We may be on short time and we may have little to no profit but we are still here, and we are still trying to make money and I personally think a lot can be said for determination.

 

I just hope it holds out until the calm.

Birds sing after a storm; why shouldn’t people feel as free to delight in whatever remains to them?~Rose Kennedy

 

About oakfiling1

Sales and Marketing Manager of a small family filing manufacturer. After training as a teacher I have decided to help the family business try an launch its new product into the world. So far its a bit of a struggle...

11 responses »

  1. Jay Caniel says:

    Love this blog! I stop watching the news couple years ago because of the pollution. Matter of fact I watch about 1 hour of tv probably in a months time. I think some of the broadcast is by design. I watched my mother get sucked into it and it paralyzes her from venturing out. Thats why its called the “tube”. Fear controls lots of people! That is the design.

  2. josegonzalezdiaz says:

    The Storm will pass for sure and now is definitely a good moment to consider new ways of doing business and connecting with others to exchange ideas that can contribute to personal and work growth. Be aware of the news but like Jay says, they love controlling people with fear. Try to have fun and enjoy and look at the opportunities that are created from this “scary” moment. If there is anything I can help do not hesitate to contact. I like your blog!

    • oakfiling1 says:

      Thanks for the comments on this post, they are reassuringly positive. I hope we make it to the end and reap some rewards. On the other hand I really need to be positive, I must have the most depressing blog going! haha

  3. Nickie says:

    Your blog is not depressing. I think you have concerns like most of us do. I wish you the best with your family business.

  4. Hi Liz, know how you feel. During the whole of 2009, I stopped lisening to the news or read the papers because there was some much doom and gloom in the Irish news. It got so bad and went on for so long that I think even the media were getting bored of all the negativity.

    However, throughout all that, you kept going and no doubt your business adapted to meet the changing circumstances. That’s called resilience and many businesses don’t have it, so well done.

  5. I love this post Liz. You really should be proud to have open doors. Heck even the businesses that were forced to close should be proud as long as they fought the good fight to make it work. Today’s climate is extremely difficult, and I spend my days helping people create businesses in it. I marvel each day at the boldness and tenacity of the entrepreneurs I work with who choose to ignore the negativity and chase their dreams. You should be proud Liz. However this business works out, it’s people like you that give us a chance at a better future.

  6. pegroup says:

    I would rather read depressing news, that is truthful, than fluff and lies just to be ‘positive’
    I am often called negative for my views, but I just say…I am more of a realist.

    • oakfiling1 says:

      I agree it is ‘important’ to read the bad, my father is a realist too. He feels we spend too much time in fantasy, with modern cinema blockbusters. I agree to some extent that maybe I should pay more attention and really take on board what the news said. But it find it very hard to think positively when I do.

      • I like your dad! LOL.
        As a dad myself, I always try to stress this ‘realistic’ approach to my daughters as well.
        You do have a point though, it is hard to stay positive when there is such an enormous amount of harsh, negative news around the globe. But, at least we are more grounded than those who live in neverland!

  7. We also need to be careful with what we wish for, since the general public is trailing us geeks and therefore obviously not into digital like we are.

Leave a comment