It is Friday again, and finally a little bit of good news I am sure you will all be happy to hear. It was only when reading over my posts in a good mood I saw just how negative I am! I must apologise, I will try and be more upbeat in future.

This week we finally had feedback from Rymans :-). No just calm down for a moment, it is not a reason to pop open champagne but it is a reason so smile. They had a meeting about new products etc and we know for definite that our file was discussed. We are still waiting for the feedback which if trends continue to follow will be in roughly 2 months. Either way some critical feedback from a pannel of experts is not something to turn ones nose up at.

Also we may have a NHS trust in London looking to take on our product as an alternative to what they currently have so that will be around 60,000 folders which is very exciting. And just to add a cherry to the top of a knickerbocker glory a solicitors in London who I met a the office show is also very interested in the concept folder we provided and is looking to make a substantial order! All in all a good Friday, I think you will agree it is defiantly a reason to have a few cheeky drinks tonight!

What is coming to light though is that all these ‘leads’ where discovered at least 2-3 months ago. So does all business take this time to develop? These are larger orders potentially and I understand that these decisions are not made lightly however a few cash flow sales would be perfect right around now. To all the business people out there, how can I chase quick, cash flow sales?

Your advice will be greatly appreciated however large or small! This quote is just how I feel at the moment :-S…

A word to the wise ain’t necessary – it’s the stupid ones that need the advice.~Bill Cosby

 

About oakfiling1

Sales and Marketing Manager of a small family filing manufacturer. After training as a teacher I have decided to help the family business try an launch its new product into the world. So far its a bit of a struggle...

4 responses »

  1. I like your blog – definitely can’t tell that you’re just starting out with it.

    I’ll be honest, I don’t think I’ve read enough yet to really know the ins and outs of your business. But in general, sales cycles (the length of time to go from lead to receiving cash for a sale) are pretty standard throughout the industry, so if you know some competitors, clients, or people familiar with the industry, they should be able to tell you what their usual length of time is from lead to cash. Unless you are disrupting the industry, you likely will be limited to within a couple standard deviations of that average.

    If you find that you are taking longer, there are lots of potential opportunities. A good first step would be to evaluate each stage of the sales funnel in your business and see where you might have opportunities to be more efficient. I have done this with all sorts of businesses at all levels of development and even the one’s that thought they were doing it perfect usually weren’t.

    I hope that’s some help and not too long winded. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to me.

    Cheers.

  2. oakfiling1 says:

    Thanks the young professional, that is helpful. No doubt I will be calling upon your expertise in future!

  3. gre practice says:

    This blog stands out among the others, especially for this genre, please keep us updated with your phenomenal writing style. Have you considered getting a facebook so we can keep up better?

Leave a Reply

