What happens when the server stops working for one of those unexplainable alien reasons that computers do sometimes? How does normal life at work resume when everyone is at a loose end?

I’m no computer whizz, I don’t even pretend to be. When dealing with technical genius’ I tell them straight, ‘That’s great; but can I have that in a language translatable to me’. I’m good with computers; my CV would say great with them, 100% computer literate with excessive use of Smart Board, excel, word, publisher and the rest. Whilst they work I’m great, when they don’t, if turning it off and on doesn’t work I’m screwed.

Well we experienced this trauma today at Oak Filing Ltd and as a small company I can only fear the effects of this on larger companies which operate by computer even more so. We are a manufacturer and are lucky that our machinery is not affected; it is just the offices databases, printers, and emails that are inaccessible. However what if an insurance company where to have a problem of this scale, where things just stop..!

I don’t think I would be as understanding if I had just been bumped into on my way to work and all my insurance company could say is, ‘Sorry but I am unable to access your details as our server is down at the moment, can you try calling back later?’. Not that I am already late for work and agitated by the Sunday driver that bumped into me at 8am on Monday morning.

After experiencing slow running internet last week thanks to BT I found my productivity stunted by a lack of Google in my life. My home from home, my first port of call. Each question I am asked, whether I know the answer or not, Google is summed to back me up and reassure me that I am right. It was only a few months ago that I was able to carry out an entire redundancy procedure without any professional legal advice. Without any books or background knowledge in this area, thanks to Google and its portholes into various websites which guided me through the process.

It is times like this that I realise how reliant I am on modern technology, I compare myself to my 62 year old mother, she knows how to use the internet and uses it to book holidays and even for her Christmas shopping. Yet her day would run just as smoothly without it. She is not dependent on it. She wouldn’t miss it if it weren’t here. I can’t remember the last time I used the Yellow Pages to find an phone number, or rang up the travel agents to book a package holiday.

Is technology as must have, something that we are obliged to use? Or will it always be a luxury, something not to be relied on by your average Joe? Imagine our server was down for week, no face book, twitter, Google, or even databases, would I be able to do what I do now easily?

Most of all, would you?

(Least it gave me half an hour to write my blog 🙂

“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.”~Albert Einstein

About oakfiling1

Sales and Marketing Manager of a small family filing manufacturer. After training as a teacher I have decided to help the family business try an launch its new product into the world. So far its a bit of a struggle...

4 responses »

  1. tdjoshi says:

    A nice post indeed. Congratulations. I strongly opine that technology now is the need and not luxury. Most problems in the world are imaginary therefore we tend to imagine “what if internet fails for a week.” Why at all we stick to imaginary problems. Instead let us hope for the best and be prepared for the worst.

  2. I love your post, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a comment, and gives the pages. If you set up updates value.

  3. But what I can say is, if you feel like you are in a wilderness period, turn it into your Development Period.

  4. Amazing piece of writing. Remember to keep up the incredible performance.

Leave a comment