I have been struggling to write my blog lately. There probably has been time I have just had no inspiration, nothing I have read, discussed, seen or even thought about seemed worthy of a blog post, there would have been no heart in it. So I waited for a light bulb, an Einstein moment!

Unfortunately that never happened. But as I re-read some of my posts I found a new relevance to ‘When is work personal? Redundancy maybe?’ I am not being made redundant, luckily. However I have been offered an interview for another job (a dream job). It has better money and is in a location more suitable for me and my partner.  Great! I hear you all cry; only my problem is that I work for my dad.

The role is a sales role in a multinational company, with great prospects a secure future. My head is begging me to get the job, asking me to prepare well, sell myself and make them an offer they cannot refuse. My heart is saying stay with my Dad as he may need my help.

The expressions on the faces of both my mum and dad said it all, (it irritated my slightly if I am honest), so unimpressed and disappointed in me as if I had walked through the door and announced ‘I’m pregnant!’ at the age of 13. No ‘well done’, not one has even asked me about the job. Had it been a teaching job they would have been over the moon, but because I am suggesting doing sales, in an office where I can have training and progress higher, that’s somewhat ridiculous apparently! I haven’t been obsessively searching for a new job, but I haven’t made a secret of it either.  My partner is travelling 3 hours a day to and from work and we need to move. My partner only finished university in July and has managed to get a great job; my mum and dad always knew that his job would be a priority.

At the minute I feel like there is little I can do for Oak Filing, I have tried my best in all that I know, all I can research and discover about sales and marketing. But with no experience or training I don’t know what else I can do. The market is dead, even our competitors are ringing us to see if we are as quiet as they are.

Now, I probably am under qualified for the job, and my confidence in sales leaves much to be desired, so there is no guarantee that I would even come close to actually getting the job. As you can probably tell by my post, I would love the job, but I am torn between my relationship with my family and my career.

I feel like this could be a break, a chance to get away from teaching a little bit and progress, launch a career in sales and marketing!  Each time I smile and get energised about the opportunity I am faced with the realisation that although leaving Oak Filing would not damage the business it may damage my relationship with my dad. But if it was you, if it was your dad, if it was your future, what would you do?

Head over heart, dreams over reality, family before work?

Home is the place where boys and girls first learn how to limit their wishes, abide by rules, and consider the rights and needs of others. – Sidonie Gruenberg

About oakfiling1

Sales and Marketing Manager of a small family filing manufacturer. After training as a teacher I have decided to help the family business try an launch its new product into the world. So far its a bit of a struggle...

10 responses »

  1. oakfiling1 says:

    Advice welcome 🙂

  2. There are some pockets, some social spheres, where a sense of integrity still adheres to the things which brought them together in the first place.

  3. Lee Goodall says:

    It’s strange. When I write my blogs I usually get the inspiration from private messages I answer. I mean when someone asks me a question, it gives me ideas for blogging, they just pour in.

  4. Lee Goodall says:

    The same thing :). We can use every situation in life to inspire others.

  5. Personally I reckon you should go for it. Not just for the money but for the sake of the health of yourself and your partner. If your partner gains an extra three hours or so a day that puts less stress and and strain on him, which makes thing healthier for the both of you.

    The fact you feel a bit guilty about moving out from the family business is a good thing but ultimately you sometimes have to be a bit selfish.

    If you try this new job and fail you can at least say you gave it a go. You won’t ever look back and think ‘what if’.

  6. Mike10613 says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if you could take the job and work part time for your dad?

  7. Did you ever share how this turned out? I hope you followed what’s best for you!

Leave a comment