So I began calling all of our contacts, sending more and more emails, new mail shots, I even started putting an emphasis on Facebook and Twitter, but still no bites. We began organising a new trade show, one which would target a more specific market. If our experience with the NHS had taught us anything it was that, buyers do not want to buy, once the consumer makes a need and want known, buyers have to buy! We had only met the buyers at the Stationery Show, no one who would really use our product had actually seen it yet.

We began organising the Office* show, this would target PA and general office workers who use products like ours everyday, frequently! This was my first opertunity to really get my teeth into orgnaising an event and all that goes with it.

So with only google as my guide I began; booking hotels, finding parking spaces, buying promotional products, making samples and organising stand design.  I  am certain that my obsession with organisation from my teaching days really helped me here. Working alongside my Dad, the most disorganised man in the universe, (that’s not even an exaggeration, his desk resembles a land fill…) I needed my slightly irritating organisation obsession. I really enjoyed the organisation process, I got to use all my favourite things like filing, colour coding, post-it notes, journals, even shopping in the good parts! An as weak as I am in other business areas, I actually think I did a good job with this. I had found something that enthused me, made me really want to get up in the morning and make that drive to work.

Then the sales stopped completely, no more long term contracts, no small orders on a weekly basis, no leads from the show. Struggling to make a profit I had to turn away from the fun and fast paced work I had been doing and turn to learning about redundancy procedures. And so after a visit to the library I found my life changed from the happy go lucky role I was enjoying to possibly the grimmest role in the factory. Some one needed to learned what to do, and to make some tough decisions, and I knew my Dad didn’t have time, so I raised my hand.

A wise person decides slowly but abides by these decisions.~ 
Arthur Ashe 

About oakfiling1

Sales and Marketing Manager of a small family filing manufacturer. After training as a teacher I have decided to help the family business try an launch its new product into the world. So far its a bit of a struggle...

One response »

  1. very good post, i certainly love this web site, keep on it

Leave a Reply

